Welcome to the Pottawatomie County Sheriff’s Office

Pottawatomie County was created by the Kansas Territorial legislature in 1857, out of land formerly included in Riley County. The present county seat of Westmoreland was selected by a vote held in 1882. The Pottawatomie County Sheriff’s Office is currently located in the heart of historic downtown Westmoreland.

We are currently serving a rapidly growing community, with an estimated county population that is upwards of 22,000 people (2012 Census). Pottawatomie County is an expansive county of 551,692 acres or 862 square miles. The northern portion of the county is largely agricultural while many southern areas consist of existing and planned developments. The county contains several cities and towns including: Belvue, Blaine, Duluth, Emmett, Fostoria, Havensville, Louisville, East Manhattan, Olsburg, Onaga, St George,  St Marys, Wamego, Westmoreland and Wheaton.
As the county’s law enforcement agency, we are responsible for general duty law enforcement work in protecting the life, persons, and property of the citizens of Pottawatomie County, Kansas, through the enforcement of laws and resolutions. Our mission every day is to accomplish the following:

  • Preserve the peace
  • Enforce the law
  • Prevent and detect crime
  • Protect life and property
  • Arrest suspected violators of the law
  • Provide service to our citizens

Duties are performed under the general supervision of the Sheriff, in accordance with established law enforcement practices, standards, and Sheriff’s Office policy. Most importantly, we are dedicated to providing the best possible customer service to the citizens we serve.

  • Mission Statement
  • History